All About Louisiana Minimum Wage In The Year 2023

In the state of Louisiana, the minimum wage per hour is $7.25. Currently, this is the same as the federal minimum wage per hour. Workers who get gratuities, certain students, and those in certain exempt professions are excluded from the minimum wage law in Louisiana, however the law applies to the vast majority of the state’s workforce. Here are the things about louisiana minimum wage 2023.

Now About Minimum Wages

Minimum wage in Louisiana was raised from $6.55 to $7.25 in 2008, the last time it was changed.

The federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour and the labor law as established by the FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act) apply across the state of Louisiana since there is no state minimum wage legislation.

Unless an employee or their occupation is exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law, Louisiana employers are not allowed to pay their workers less than $7.25 per hour.

What the Experts Say

If you ask, the experts will get back to you as soon as possible with answers to any questions you may have concerning the minimum wage in Louisiana. Do you want to make a move in your professional life? The free Louisiana job search tool will help you find open positions in your area that are currently hiring.

To remind employees of the minimum wage and their rights as workers under Louisiana labor law, all companies in the state of Louisiana are obliged to display a minimum wage poster that has been approved for display.

About the Employment Wages

Employers in Louisiana must prominently display an approved Louisiana minimum wage poster, as well as other Louisiana and federal labor law posters, in accordance with the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Louisiana labor law. It’s possible for employers to face hefty fines in the state of Louisiana if they fail to comply with a labor law poster posting requirement.

To learn more about overtime pay in Louisiana, go here

If a worker in Louisiana puts in more than 40 hours per week, they are entitled to overtime pay equal to at least 1.5 times the ordinary applicable minimum wage. There is no daily maximum specified by Louisiana law for when an employee must clock in to qualify for overtime compensation. However, in some states, workers must first reach a certain salary level before being entitled to overtime.

All employees in Los Angeles are protected by the Fair Labor Standards Act, which mandates that they get overtime compensation if they work more than 40 hours in a workweek. If your employer does not compensate you fairly for working overtime, you may file a claim for unpaid wages with the Louisiana Department of Labor.

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act establishes particular minimum pay rates that are applicable to certain kinds of workers, in addition to any minimum wage exemptions that are unique to the state of Louisiana, as noted above.


Place referred to as Louisiana in the United States. Teenagers and young adults get a lower minimum wage of $4.25 per hour. Employers in Louisiana must pay new hires under the age of 20 $4.25 per hour in training wages for the first 90 days on the job, in accordance with federal law.